Los Angeles proggers Heliopolis announce new album ‘City Of The Sun’


“Put former members of acclaimed progressive rock bands Gabble Ratchet, Mars Hollow and Ten Jinn in a room together and what do you get? Heliopolis (“City of the Sun” in Greek), a most appropriate moniker for a band based out of the sunny climes of Los Angeles.

The band was formed by Jerry Beller (drums) and Kerry Chicoine (bass) in September 2012 after the dissolution of their former band, Mars Hollow; the quintet is rounded out by virtuoso keyboardist Matt Brown, guitarist Michael Matier, and vocalist Scott Jones.

Heliopolis have played a string of acclaimed gigs on the West Coast ranging from Berkeley, CA (with MoeTar) to Mexicali Prog (with Italy’s Il Castle di Atlante), as well as shows in Santa Monica and Los Angeles; the band’s most recent appearance was at the second annual Nor Cal Prog Festival (featuring Moraine, Erik Norlander and Inner Ear Brigade).”

The debut album “City of the Sun” is produced by David Morse (Frank Zappa, David Bowie, Van Halen), and engineered by John Prpich (Juice Newton, Led Zepagain); the album is scheduled for release in early 2014 on an as yet to be determined record label. Chicoine states, “The Heliopolis mission is to build upon the foundations established by our previous musical experiences in an attempt to take the music into uncharted sonic waters with an emphasis on melody, composition and improvisation, and to bring the music alive onstage with energy and passion.”

For more information and to hear some music visit the band’s website:


“we welcome you on our journey to the City of the Sun…”

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.