Epica – The Phantom Agony re-released

Ten years after its’ original release Epica‘s The Phasntom Agony has been remastered and now comes as a double CD. The official release date from Centertainment will be 21st March 2013. Along with this release the band will perform a special concert entitled ‘Retrospect’ on 23rd March in Eindhowen. The concert will also be available online – Click HERE for details…

Epica ~ The Phantom AgonyThe Phantom Agony marked the start of the now decade-long and world-wide career of the Dutch group EPICA. The album was recorded at The Gate Studio in Wolfsburg, Germany, under the leadership of the renowned producer and engineer Sacha Paeth (a.o. Aina, After Forever, Rhapsody, Kamelot) and at its release it was critically acclaimed to be one of the most impressive Dutch Epic Metal debut albums ever. The classically trained mezzo-soprano vocalist Simone Simons is a true revelation, confronting a complete choir & orchestra just as easily as she battles the shrouds clad grunts. But it is the incredible arrangements and production, this band of ex-After Forever guitarist Mark Jansen gives a unique place in Dutch rock history. “Pain and beauty blend into a musical experience that will saturate all the listener’s senses”, one critic wrote after listening to the overwhelming CD. He could not have put it better.

Ten years after its original release, The Phantom Agony is back in store. Remastered from the original digital masters, as a double CD. The expanded edition comes in a deluxe digipack and contains 15 bonus tracks, including 7 previously unreleased versions and one previously unreleased song. The 20 pages thick booklet will provide unique photos and memorabilia, plus liner notes by guitarist Mark Jansen.

TMD-071  2CD EPICA – The Phantom Agony – Expanded Edition  
Chapter 1
1. Adyta 1:27 “The Neverending Embrace”
2. Sensorium 4:49
3. Cry for the Moon 6:44 “The Embrace that Smothers – Part IV”
4. Feint 4:19
5. Illusive Consensus 5:00
6. Façade of Reality 8:10 “The Embrace that Smothers – Part V”
7. Run for a Fall 6:31
8. Seif al Din 5:46 “The Embrace that Smothers – Part VI”
9. The Phantom Agony 8:59
10. Veniality 4:37
11. The Phantom Agony 4:33 – single version
12. Triumph of Defeat 3:54

Chapter 2
1. Adyta 1:28 – orchestral version
2. Sensorium 4:53 – orchestral version
3. Cry for the Moon 6:40 – orchestral version
4. Feint 4:18 – orchestral version
5. Illusive Consensus 5:02 – orchestral version
6. Basic Instinct 4:07 – orchestral track
7. Run for a Fall 6:26 – orchestral version
8. The Phantom Agony 9:00 – orchestral version
9. Veniality 4:35 – orchestral version
10. Feint 4:53 – piano version
11. Cry for the Moon 3:30 – single version
12. Run for a Fall 4:29 – single version

Artist: EPICA
Album: The Phantom Agony – Expanded Edition Format: 2CD
Label: Transmission Records Cat. No.: TMD-071
Barcode:  2090503797994

This entry was posted in Gig Dates, News, Prog Metal, Re-Releases. Bookmark the permalink.