New Manning album

Manning‘s twelfth album and the sequel to 2006’s well received Anser’s Tree will be released through Festival Music (F2) on 7th November 2011. Margaret’s Children whis currently in the pre-order stage…

Manning ~ Margaret's ChildrenAhead of the release, weekly album character BIOGRAPHIES will be published from the web site… so collect the set – HERE!  So far we are up to EPISODE #5!

Always a nerve wracking time of year having invested so much time into making the thing, comes the time when it has to be let out into the ‘wild’ be free…!” GuyM

The album which is the sequel to the 2006 “ANSER’S TREE” recording features the current live band plus some excellent guest contributions.

* Guy Manning: Acoustic 6,12 and Classical Guitars, Drums, Electric Guitars, Keyboards, Samples, Bass, Bouzouki, Mandolins, FX, Percussion, Lead and Backing Vocals

The Fabulous Manning Band Contributors
* Chris Catling: Electric Guitars and Backing Vocals
* Kev Currie: Electric Guitars, Guitar Synth and Backing Vocals
* Steve Dundon: Flutes
* Kris Hudson-Lee: Basses
* Julie King: Backing Vocals (Lead Vocal on “A Night At The Savoy, 1933”)
* Tim Leadbeater: Grand Piano (4,7)

Guest Musician Contributors
* Ian ‘Walter’ Fairbairn: Fiddle
* Kathy Hampson: Cello
* John Kennard: Backing Vocals, Darbuka and Drum Program Consultancy
* Mark Woodward : Additonal Violin

Special Guest Musician Contributors
* Marek Arnold: Clarinet, Alto, Soprano and Tenor Saxes (Courtesy of “‘Toxic Smile”)
* Leon Camfield: Various Percussion Items (Courtesy of “Tinyfish”)
* Phideaux ( as “The MC at the Savoy”) (Courtesy of himself!)

Front cover artwork by graphics designer : Ed Unitsky (The Tangent, The Flower Kings, Starcastle, Unitopia etc)
Ed agreed to provide a special new updated version of his original ANSER’S TREE artwork for this sequel.
The location is the same, but the Season has now moved on to Winter.

Album Tracks

1 FLEMING BARRAS (1645 – ????) [The Year Of Wonders] 09:49
2 JORGEN BARRAS (1834 – 1900) [Revelation Road] 05:11
3 AMY QUARTERMAINE (1862 – 1916) [A Perfect Childhood] 17:05
4 HARRIET HORDEN (1912 – 1955) [A Night At The Savoy, 1933] 05:05
5 JAMES FAIRFAX (1922 – 1945) [An Average Man] 06:31
6 AMELIA FAIRFAX (1926 – 2010) [Black Silk Sheets Of Cairo] 07:58
7 DAVID LOGAN (1967 – 2022) [The Southern Waves] 08:47

The live band is now working hard on bringing a number of the new tunes into the next set
Our album launch gig is planned for Sat 10th Dec 2011 at the Corporation, Sheffield, UK (with The Paul Menel band) 

This entry was posted in 2011, New Album. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Manning album

  1. Olga Odessa says:

    1 – The first Album sample “Fleming Barras (1645 – ????) – The Year of Wonders” was posted at the official site
    2 – Latest news you can find at MANING’s FaceBook page
    3 – Mini-interview Guy Manning about the artwork (with its detail) and new release

Comments are closed.