John Wetton new solo album

John Wetton will release his sixth solo album, Raised In Captivity, through Frontiers Records on 1st July throughout Europe and 12th July in the US. The album features many guest appearances including Steve Hackett, Robert Fripp and Steve Morse…

John Wetton ~ Raised In Captivity“Raised In Captivity” celebrates yet another milestone in an extraordinary life, a stunning collection of songs reinforcing a career of over 40 years during which John Wetton has created a legacy as one of the greatest singers, musicians and songwriters ever.  Respected worldwide by fans and musical peers alike, Wetton’s career included a significant period of time in the early eighties when he was the biggest selling singer in the world.    Once again characterised by the emotional impact of the material, a necessary component in all Wetton’s creativity, “Raised In Captivity” continues an unrivalled career which has brought inspiration to millions worldwide.

Of the new album and choice of producer, Wetton commented, “The decision to record in Los Angeles with Billy Sherwood was entirely mine. I wanted the chaotic urban inspiration, edge and energy to juxtapose the natural beauty that California provides.  I also knew that Billy Sherwood would provide the musical and technical ability to record quickly, with ultra high energy and superb production quality.”  The material was written in a variety of ways, such as “Goodbye Elsinore” was written on the Denmark-Sweden sea ferry en route to a Vilde Frang concert and “The Devil and the Opera House” is co-written with King Crimson collaborator Richard Palmer-James. The album’s finale is “Mighty Rivers”, featuring the enigmatic Dutch soprano Anneke Van Giersbergen and the Seattle Symphony Orchestra.

John Wetton has been a member of several prominent British bands. After two albums with Family he joined King Crimson from 1972 to 1974, before working with Roxy Music and Uriah Heep. In 1977, with former Crimson band mate and drummer Bill Bruford, he co-founded U.K., which also featured guitarist Allan Holdsworth and keyboardist/violinist Eddie Jobson.  After U.K.’s demise, Wetton turned his attentions to a solo career. 

In 1982, Wetton became part of the supergroup Asia, together with Steve Howe, Carl Palmer and Geoff Downes. This “fab four” of progressive pop would rule radio and record sales, with their debut album becoming the biggest selling album of the year and yielding the worldwide hit “Heat of the Moment.”  Wetton remained prolific with more solo studio albums and several collaborative efforts over the years.

In 2002 at a John Wetton fan convention held in Allentown, PA, he started working with Geoff Downes again. This collaboration ultimately resulted a series of iCon studio and live albums and the in the highly-anticipated reunion of Asia’s original lineup, bringing about two successful new studio albums: PHOENIX in 2008 and OMEGA in 2010.

This entry was posted in New Album. Bookmark the permalink.