United Progressive Fraternity

” Exciting news from down under!

Although, well known Australian Progressive Rock group Unitopia have decided to call it a day, the musical spirit still lives on in the newly formed United Progressive Fraternity. A phoenix from the ashes, UPF are a tour de force with ex-Unitopia members Matt Williams on guitar, Dave Hopgood on drums, Tim Irrgang on percussion and the ever magical voice of Mark ‘Truey’ Trueack, whose vision this juggernaut is. Added to this, Mark has managed to corral some progressive rock heavyweights in the form of keyboard player, guitarist, vocalist and song-writer, friend Guy Manning (Manning, The Tangent), Steve Gee on bass (Landmarq) and on the first UPF album and also on their up and coming tour of the UK and Europe later in the year, wind player Ian Ritchie (renowned for his work with Roger Waters).

On 31 March, UPF the band  announced their existence with the video release of “The Water”, from the debut album ‘Fall in Love with the World’ (due for release in October 2014) and which includes a collaboration with ex- Yes front man Jon Anderson and input from former Genesis guitarist, Steve Hackett.  Steve Unruh will also appear as a special guest on the album, playing the violin and flute.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fz2nYmeG7R0   [ “Water” with Jon Anderson ]

The band will be touring the UK and Europe in the autumn and have already secured a place at the prestigious Summers End Festival as the Special Guest slot on Saturday night.
Fall in Love with the World   (release date October 2014):
David Hopgood (Drums/Vocals) [Unitopia]
Guy Manning (Keyboards/Guitars/Mandolins/Vocals) [Manning, The Tangent]
Mark (Truey) Trueack (Vocals) [Unitopia]
Matt Williams (Guitars/Vocals) [Unitopia]
Daniel Mash – bass, vocals (The Tangent)
Marek Arnold – sax, clarinet, keyboards
Tim Irrgang (Percussion) [Unitopia]

Special Guests:

Jon Anderson, Steve Hackett, Steve Unruh, Mary Katherine, Brittany and Holly Trueack.”

This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.